Skip to content

European Parliament ends visa-free travel for Americans

The Independent reports:

The European Parliament has voted to end visa-free travel for Americans within the EU.

It comes after the US failed to agree visa-free travel for citizens of five EU countries – Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania – as part of a reciprocity agreement. US citizens can normally travel to all countries in the bloc without a visa.

The ban, if it comes, affects all Americas, not just Redneckistanis. Will it come? It depends:

Following the committee’s vote, the Commission must act to suspend the visa waiver for Americans, but the European Parliament or the Council of the European Union may object.

Published inEuropeTrump Dump

One Comment

  1. johannes

    To best of my knowledge the council has to vote unanimously, so if I.e. Germany wants the visa waiver this resolution doesn’t make it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *